Dog License Information
According to Section 174.05 of the Wisconsin Statutes, the owner of a dog more than 5 months of age on January 1st of any year, or 5 months of age within the license year, shall annually, on or before the date the dog becomes 5 months of age, pay the dog license fee and obtain a license. The collecting official shall assess and collect a late fee of $5.00 from every owner of a dog 5 months of age or over, if the owner failed to obtain a license prior to April 1st of each year, or within 30 days of acquiring ownership of a licensable dog or if the owner failed to obtain a license on or before the dog reached licensable age.
Section 95.21(2)(a) of Wisconsin Statutes requires that the owner of a dog shall have the dog vaccinated against rabies by a veterinarian within 30 days after the dog reached 4 months of age and revaccinated within one year after the initial vaccination. The owner of a dog shall have the dog revaccinated against rabies by a veterinarian before the date that the immunization expires as stated on the certificate of vaccination, or, if no date is specified, within three years after the previous vaccination.
Note: A $5 late fee is applied if the payment is made after March 31.